Skip to main content

All regional journalists qualify to state competition

All regional journalism competitors qualify to state

(March 2, 2017)

All nine of the high school journalists who competed at regional journalism qualified to state. Of those students, Senior Abby Brockmann qualified in all four of her events; Senior Sami Fischer, Sophomore Addison Hamilton, and Sophomore Kennedy Kats qualified in three; Freshman Taylor Burkhardt and Sophomore Gracie Johnson qualified in two; and Senior Mackensie Haverkamp, Sophomore Tyler Blaylock and Junior Halie Bouton qualified in one event.

A special shout out to regional champions: Brockmann, first in headline writing; Fischer, first in sports photography; and Hamilton, first in academic photography.

The complete list is as follows:

Abby Brockmann - First in headline writing, second in news writing, third in copy editing, honorable mention in advertising

Sami Fischer - First in sports photography, honorable mention in yearbook copy writing and cutline writing

Addison Hamilton - First in academic photography, third in student life photography, honorable mention in theme development and graphics

Kennedy Kats - Third in sports writing, honorable mention in news writing and theme development and graphics

Mackensie Haverkamp - Honorable mention in cutline writing

Taylor Burkhardt - Second in yearbook sports writing, third in infographics

Tyler Blaylock - Honorable mention in advertising

Halie Bouton - Honorable mention in photo illustration

Gracie Johnson - Honorable mention in sports photography and student life photography


Archived 2016-2017 News Articles and Videos Navigation

Contact Information

USD 372
200 Rice Rd
P.O. Box 39
Silver Lake, Kansas 66539
Phone: 785-582-4026
Fax: 785-582-5259